Ruby Tuesday

I arrived in Koh Pha Ngan after a long 12 hours of traveling. I hadn’t had wifi all day and was scared that the girls I was meeting were for some reason not going to be at the hostel. But they were! And apparently I looked exhausted because after dropping my backpack to the floor the two cute bartenders were standing in front of me holding a shot of tequila and a lime. Best welcome ever! So that’s pretty much how the week went. For those of you who don’t know, the appeal of Koh Pha Ngan to many young travelers is the full moon party which as you could guess occurs every month on the full moon. But this has become so popular that now there are parties leading up the 4 days before the full moon party and there is even a half moon party! So our first night there we went to a pool party which is at the infamous coral bungalows. I thankfully did not get thrown in the pool as it looked pretty disgusting and luckily it is only about 3 feet deep so nobody was drowning or anything but it was pretty crazy. Unfortunately I have no pictures as I did not bring my camera just in case somebody decided it was my turn to go for a swim. We did stay out till 5 am though. The next day the bar boys wanted to play giant jenga so we hung out with them playing jenga and beer pong all day then had our own little party at the hostel that night. I played the guitar a little and one of the bartenders told me I reminded him of Jenny from Forest Gump so that became my name around the hostel for the rest of the week. The next day we finally got our asses out of the hostel to explore Koh Pha Ngan a little. We checked out a beach but it wasn’t too exciting then went to Thong Sala (another area on the island) to try to buy some outfits for the full moon party. There were a ton of outdoor market type shops but the shop owners were not very friendly! One woman who I was trying to barter with gave me a ridiculous price for a dress I wanted and when I tried to bargain would only go down 10 baht (about 30 cents). The girl I was with said “oh my god, let’s go” then this woman chased us out of the store screaming “OH MY GOD” in a blatant attempt at making fun of us. When we arrived back at the hostel a tour group of young Australians had showed up for the full moon party and they were ridiculous! One of them in one afternoon ran up a bar tab of about $1,300 US dollars. And they also had some of the worst tattoos I’ve ever seen. One of them had an Egyptian pyramid and pharaoh on his arm and when I asked him about it he couldn’t give me any background. In fact, he didn’t even know where Egypt was! I asked him and he said “uh it’s in Egypt”. Crazy. And I felt so bad for our bartender boys because they just looked miserable. Anyway, luckily they all got too drunk and tired themselves out by 10pm then we all went to the jungle party. This is another “official” pre full moon party that is in the jungle with a ton of cool lights and stages everywhere. It was really fun but the music got pretty repetitive pretty quickly and we left around 3am. I did meet some brazilians though and got to practice my Portuguese! The next day was full moon but we needed to recover so we lounged in the pool until about 7pm then we all got ready and started painting each other. The main thing of full moon is that there are a bunch of black lights and everyone is covered in neon paint so it looks awesome! I also think I should be a professional body painter because I was ridiculously good at it. The pre party at the hostel was so fun, at one point everyone was even doing the Macarena. When we got to full moon it was a sight to be seen. It’s a long stretch of beach covered in thousands of drunk painted people with stages and drink and food stands parallel to the ocean. There is even a sleeping area where people can take naps because the party goes all night! There are people who stand guard around the sleeping area to make sure nobody in there gets robbed, it was actually hilarious. So we drank and danced and got home around 8am then slept most of the day. We spent another day and night at the hostel just relaxing with the boys then Carly and Ash went to Koh Phi Phi and Kat and I went to Koh Tao. It was sad saying bye to Carly and Ash but I knew I would see them in Bangkok. Pha Ngan was amazing! I wish I could say I saw more of the island though I know that was not the point and luckily I got to see some other pretty beautiful Thai islands.

Leave a Reply

