Little Wing

I flew from Kuching to Kota Kinabalu to Kuala Lumpur. I had a 5 hour layover in the KK airport with no Internet or food so I read an entire book! I just finished the five books series of The Hitchikers Guide To The Galaxy and absolutely loved them! So funny and spot on. Anyway I didn’t get to KL until 2am so I just got a cab, went to my hostel and passed out. The next morning I thought I was alone in my room so I was singing and making phone calls when this Dutch girl popped out of bed. It actually turned out to be pretty hilarious later on. But we made a little family in KL. Me, Iset (Dutch girl), Houston (Australian guy), Nick (Scottish guy), and Eric (Canadian guy). It was really fun, we walked around exploring, went to Chinatown, went to the park, ate lunch at a delicious hole in the wall Indian restaurant, and went to the mosque. We even tried to go see the fireflies (in Selangor 2 hours north there is one of the largest firefly populations in the world) but it just didnt work out. It was really expensive, the bus didn’t come back so we would have had to spend the night, the fireflies don’t come out in the rain, blah, blah, blah. I was pretty bummed but got over it. We all went down to this street for dinner that is full of restaurants and had some yummy soup then got some beers and walked over to see the petronas towers. The next day we went and explored the mall because it is HUGE and has a roller coaster/ theme park INSIDE. We ate lunch at a street vendor with the best samosas I’ve ever had in my life then just hung out at the hostel. Iset and I were gonna go to the highlands the next day but the boys convinced us to stay because they wanted us to come to this electronic music festival they had found out about called We Love Asia 2.0. I hate electronic music but I really liked the group so we stayed. In the morning we went to the Batu caves and saw some lady get attacked by a monkey on the stairs then we went to the festival. It was actually really fun although not fully my scene. Then Iset and I set off for the Cameron highlands. We took a bus that took the majority of the day then found an Indian restaurant with mouth watering naan, went to the hostel bar and played an embarrassing game of pool then went to bed. We took a tour the next day which was kind of bullshit because it seemed like they were just taking us places where we could buy things but it was beautiful also. We started at a tea farm, then went to a rose garden, a bee farm, a strawberry farm, an outdoor market, and a Buddhist temple. The last stop was cool because there were actually monks there praying! The next day Iset went to Penang and I set off to meet a friend from Bali in the perhentian islands. It’s paradise here! Tiny island with some beaches and jungle and no responsibilities. I’ve been relaxing on the beach and have planned a snorkeling trip for tomorrow :-).

Leave a Reply

